10 Best Gluten-Free Vodka Brands from 10 Best Gluten-Free Vodka Brands Gallery

10 Best Gluten-Free Vodka Brands Gallery

Editor

10 Best Gluten-Free Vodka Brands

10 Best Gluten-Free Vodka Brands

Avoiding gluten can be tricky, especially when the protein is hiding in so many seemingly innocuous foods. Vodka is clear, low-calorie, and generally tasteless — qualities that make most bartenders hate it and have the opposite effect on almost everyone else. But is vodka gluten-free?

In many cases, no. The clear spirit is often made using grains that contain gluten such as wheat, barley, or rye. However, gluten-free vodka, often made by specialty brands, is becoming increasingly popular.

Because they might be distilled from wheat or another gluten-y grain, traces of gluten might remain behind after the distillation process in some of these brands, which would be bad news for celiac sufferers. Those with celiac disease or a severe gluten intolerance may choose to avoid drinking vodka altogether.

But don’t despair: There are plenty of other safe vodkas out there distilled from gluten-free sources, including grapes, potatoes, and corn.

On this particular list, we avoided making any judgements about which gluten-free vodka brands taste best or are the best in terms of how they are made. There are upwards of 30 vodka brands producing gluten-free spirits safe for people who are gluten intolerant. However, we instead chose the 10 brands you’re most likely to find at your local bar or liquor store — the most popular gluten-free vodka brands you can count on to avoid a gluten reaction.

Holly Van Hare and Dan Myers contributed to this story.

Chopin

Chopin
Chopin/itemmaster

Chopin makes vodkas distilled from wheat and rye, but the version with a black cap and lettering is made with potatoes instead.

Cîroc

Cîroc
Ciroc/itemmaster

This “ultra-premium” vodka is distilled from grapes. Not all of their many flavors, however, are gluten-free. If you are avoiding gluten, stick to Cîroc Ten, Cîroc Ultra-Premium Vodka, Cîroc Red Berry, Cîroc Amaretto, Cîroc Coconut, and Cîroc Peach.

Crystal Head

Crystal Head

Best identified by its unorthodox bottle (which is shaped like — you guessed it — a crystal head), this vodka is actually distilled from peaches and creamed corn. Can you guess which celebrity is responsible for this classic brand?

Deep Eddy

Deep Eddy

Flickr/uniquelycat (Cathy) Smith/CC BY 4.0

This Austin, Texas-based vodka is made from corn. They also distill their vodka 10 times and filter it through charcoal to ensure they’re selling liquor of the utmost purity. Charcoal is often used to absorb toxins — but that doesn’t mean you should eat it!

Dixie

Dixie
Courtesy of Dixie Vodka

This Charleston, South Carolina-based vodka company makes its vodka completely out of non-GMO corn. All four flavors — Southern, Citrus, Black Pepper, and Mint — are gluten-free. They recommend using their Black Pepper flavor in a gluten-free Bloody Mary. Use one of these recipes to make your own at home!

Iceberg

Iceberg
Courtesy of Iceberg Vodka

This Canadian vodka is also distilled from peaches and creamed corn, which is apparently a thing. It’s also made with ice harvested from Canadian icebergs. If you want to stock your shelves with other kinds of gluten-free spirits as well, Iceberg also offers gold rum, silver rum, and gin. All of their spirits are triple-distilled, gluten-free, and certified kosher.

Luksusowa

Luksusowa
Luksusowa/itemmaster

This Polish vodka boasts that they make their spirits from potatoes — “the manliest vegetable there is,” according to their website. We’re not sure whether or not potatoes will really reinforce your masculinity, but they are gluten-free.

Smirnoff

Smirnoff
Smirnoff/itemmaster

The popular vodka brand Smirnoff is distilled entirely from corn. If you’re likely to find any vodka brand at your favorite dive, it’s this one.

Tito’s

Tito’s
Tito’s/Itemmaster

Tito’s vodka, which hails from Texas, is made with corn. The brand has been certified gluten-free by the Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG) and advertises it on the label. The founder claims he never intentionally chose to make his vodka gluten-free — his method earned its fame from the taste alone.

Devotion

Devotion
Chris Poplawski

Devotion advertises that their vodka is the world’s first and only sugar-free and certified gluten-free vodka. Even their flavored vodkas, including fruity varieties like blood orange and wild cherry, achieve their taste without adding any sugar. Health-conscious consumers love that feature, since the sugar in some flavored vodkas can rack up calories quickly.

So there you have it — the popular brands you can drink even if you’re gluten-free. Just remember that not all vodkas made from corn or other gluten-free foods are safe; that “fact” about alcohol just isn’t true, and neither are these other common misconceptions.

More from The Daily Meal: 

The 150 Best Bars in America

20 Reasons Why You Should Drink a Glass of Wine Every Day

Fascinating Facts about America’s 15 Favorite Booze Brands

10 Alcohol Facts That Just Aren’t True

101 Best Wineries in America

Click for full story
10 Best Gluten-Free Vodka Brands