David Chang, Paul Kahan Share 'Outstanding Chef' Award at James Beard Awards

All the winners were announced last night
The 2013 James Beard Foundation Awards

We talk to chefs like Thomas Keller, Grant Achatz, John Besh and Daniel Boulud about this year's awards

Chef David Chang helms the growing Momofuku empire.

The 2013 James Beard Awards were held in New York City last night, and for only the third time in history, the award for Outstanding Chef was a tie: Momofuku titan David Chang shared the crown with Paul Kahan (of Chicago’s Blackbird and Publican). Danny Bowien, of Mission Chinese Food, was named Rising Star Chef (read our interview with him here), Del Posto’s Brooks Headley took the title of Outstanding Pastry Chef, Le Bernardin’s Maguy Le Coze was named Outstanding Restaurateur, and San Francisco’s State Bird Provisions won Best New Restaurant, the win perfectly timed as they work on their new restaurant The Progress.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Rising Star Chef of the Year
Danny Bowien, Mission Chinese Food, San Francisco and New York City

Outstanding Bar Program
The Aviary, Chicago

Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional
Merry Edwards, Merry Edwards Winery, Sebastopol, Calif.

Outstanding Wine Program
Frasca Food and Wine, Boulder, Colo.

Best Chef: Great Lakes
Stephanie Izard, Girl & the Goat, Chicago

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic
Johnny Monis, Komi, Washington, D.C.

Best Chef: Midwest
Colby Garrelts, Bluestem, Kansas City, Mo.

Best Chef: New York City
Wylie Dufresne, WD~50, New York City

Best Chef: Northwest
Gabriel Rucker, Le Pigeon, Portland, Ore.

Best Chef: West
Christopher Kostow, The Restaurant at Meadowood, St. Helena, Calif.

Best Chef: Northeast
Melissa Kelly, Primo, Rockland, Maine

Best Chef: South
Tory McPhail, Commander's Palace, New Orleans

Best Chef: Southeast
Joseph Lenn, The Barn at Blackberry Farm, Walland, Tenn.

Best Chef: Southwest
Jennifer Jasinski, Rioja, Denver

Restaurant Design and Graphics: 75 Seats and Under
Isa, Taavo Somer, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Restaurant Design and Graphics: 76 Seats and Over:
Juvia, Alejandro Barrios Carrero Designs, Miami Beach, Fla.

2013 Who’s Who Inductees
Zarela Martinez, Michael Mina, Bill Yosses, Eric Asimov, Dorothy Kalins, and Barbara Lynch

Lifetime Achievement Award
Cecilia Chiang (Chef and Restaurateur, San Francisco)

Humanitarian of the Year
Emeril Lagasse (Chef and Restaurateur, New Orleans)

Outstanding Pastry Chef
Brooks Headley, Del Posto, New York City

Best New Restaurant
State Bird Provisions, San Francisco

Outstanding Service
Del Posto, New York City

Outstanding Restaurateur
Maguy Le Coze, Le Bernardin, New York City

Outstanding Restaurant
Blue Hill, New York City


Outstanding Chef
David Chang, Momofuku Noodle Bar, New York City
Paul Kahan, Blackbird, Chicago