Penfolds Koonunga Hill Shiraz 2013

South Australia

About the Region

The state of South Australia, whose capital is Adelaide, encompasses an immense series of wine-growing regions, and produces more than 50 percent of all Australian wine. It is divided into six zones: Barossa (including both the Barossa and Eden valleys), Fleurieu (which includes McLaren Vale), Mount Lofty Ranges (of which Clare Valley is part), Far North, Lower Murray, and Limestone Coast (including Coonawarra). Wines that don't come from the better-known parts of the region, or that are blends from several sub-zones, are labeled South Australia. Virtually all the grape varieties grown in Australia, from the familiar to the obscure, may be found here.