Buckwheat groats are the hulled seed of the buckwheat plant. Despite its name, buckwheat is not a member of the wheat family, and it is more closely related botanically to sorrel and rhubarb. It therefore contains no gluten, making it safe for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Buckwheat is used in recipes as a low-calorie, gluten-free replacement for wheat. Buckwheat flour also adds a nice bite and texture to crêpes.