Gluten's Secret Hideouts Slideshow

Gazpacho

iStockphoto/msheldrake

What a delicious and refreshing way to get your vegetables; it’s a soup and salad all in one…plus a dip into the bread basket. Many versions of gazpacho call for slices of white bread blended in with the veggies. You might not even know it’s there until it’s too late!

Oatmeal

iStockphoto/robynmac

The topic of oatmeal is under debate in the gluten-free community. While oats themselves don’t contain gluten, they do contain avenin, a similar protein which can set off allergies in some people. Oats are frequently harvested from land rotated with wheat, rye and barley and additional cross-contamination from leftover grains in processing facilities is not uncommon. Gluten-free oats are labeled “pure” and are safe.

Pringles

istockphoto/juanmonino

“Potato dough” made from potato “flakes” may seem innocuous enough (to some), but most kinds contain wheat flour. Stick to regular chips, but beware: BBQ and cheese flavors often contain malted barley flour, verboten to the gluten-free world.

Tofurky

Flickr/Katie Aaburg

Bad news for vegetarians with wheat allergies – nearly all imitation meat contains gluten, the protein part of the wheat kernel.  It’s what gives these products their meat-like texture. Steer clear and opt for tofu instead.

Candy

Flickr/Jason Alley

Put down the Twizzler – a surprising amount of candy contains wheat, licorice especially. Other culprits: Milky Way, Hershey’s miniatures and Lindt truffles. Be sure to check the label for wheat flour, barley and malt ingredients.

Buckwheat Crepes, Cornbread and Potato Bread

Flickr/Mintyfreshflavor

Don’t let their names fool you, nearly any product made with gluten-free flours (buckwheat, corn, potato) also contains a healthy dose of wheat flour for textural purposes.  Unless your baked goods are labeled gluten-free, steer clear to stay healthy.

Gazpacho

What a delicious and refreshing way to get your vegetables, it’s a soup and salad all in one…plus a dip into the bread basket.  Many versions of gazpacho call for slices of white bread blended in with the veggies.  You might not even know it’s there until it’s too late!

Beef Bourguignon

istock/highimpactphotography

When made traditionally, this classic French dish (one of Julia Child’s favorites) involves dredging the cubes of beef in flour before browning to keep them from sticking to the pan and becoming tough.  To keep things gluten-free, omit this step and serve over rice or potatoes instead of pasta.

The Sushi Bar

istockphoto/fernandoAH

While most people know soy sauce contains wheat (up to 50%), the humble California roll contains a hidden culprit.  Imitation crab, also called surimi or “krab,” contains wheat starch as a filler.  Stick with real fish and remember to BYOT – Bring Your Own Tamari. 

Frozen Fries

Flickr/BluEyedA73

Think again before you dig into those tots – they’re more than just potato (and fun).  Many frozen potato products like fries, tater tots and hash browns contain wheat flour to help prevent them from becoming soggy when reheated.  Steer clear of anything labeled “extra crispy,” as this is usually a giveaway and make your own instead