If You're Not A Gold Level Customer At Starbucks, You're Nobody

If You're Not a Gold Level Customer at Starbucks, You're Nobody

Joining the loyalty rewards program at Starbucks is free. To sign up, you need to provide your name, email, ZIP code, and a password. Press register, and presto! You're a member in minutes.

If you usually pay for your coffee with your everyday credit card, make sure to add in your card information in order to receive rewards each time you visit Starbucks. If you want to separate your normal spending from your coffee ventures, you can pre-load a Starbucks Card with funds and use it for nothing more than your favorite cup of Joe.

Once you've registered your credit card or Starbucks card, the rest is simple. Download the Starbucks App and get ready for the rewards.

From then on, your Starbucks spending will give you endless benefits with any purchase that applies. It's the gift that keeps on giving.

Feeling confused? Here's everything you need to know about the loyalty rewards program in a nutshell:

With a membership to the loyalty program, you can receive free drinks or food, custom offers on items, and early access to new products. In order to receive these rewards, you need stars. To get stars, you need to pay with your loyalty card, buy specially marked Starbucks products at your local grocery store, or buy Starbucks coffee or tea products online. The more stars you get, the better your chances of receiving a higher level of membership.

Want to know how to reach the three Starbucks membership levels, and what to order as you climb the ladder? Take a look below to read about the different levels. For additional information, take a look at their website.

Welcome Level

This may be the rookie level, but don't worry, it's easy to get started. To earn your first rewards, just register a Starbucks, Teavana, or La Boulange Card.

By doing so, you will receive a birthday drink for free, a birthday coupon for 15 percent off a purchase at the Starbucks Store online, and special customer offers via email (if you wish).

What to Order on the Welcome Level

If you're feeling intimidated by the endless selections Starbucks has to offer, try not to sweat it. Here are a few questions you can ask yourself to master an order: Are you in the mood for hot or cold? Light in caffeine or strong? Coffee or tea? Answer these and go from there.

Still feeling shaken up? A good go-to is a plain black coffee or tea, hot or iced. If you want to know more about coffee, check out our Coffee 101 Guide.

Green Level

To reach the Green Level, you need to collect five Stars within 12 months. Once you've reached that point, you'll receive all of the Welcome Level rewards along with free in-store refills on hot or iced brewed coffee and tea.

What to Order on the Green Level

Once you've finally earned Green Level status, it's time to start experimenting. Have you ever downed an espresso shot? Are you opposed to trying a different version of dairy, like soy milk?

Now that you aren't a complete stranger to the wide world of coffee and tea, take a risk and order a soy latte or a green tea lemonade. 

Gold Level

You've finally done it! To receive your "gold belt" and reach Gold Level, you need to collect 30 Stars within 12 months. As a Gold Level member, you receive all of the same benefits as the Welcome and Green Level, plus a free food or drink after your next 12 stars. An added bonus? You get a fancy personalized Gold Card with your name on it. How cool is that?

What to Order on the Gold Level

You know all of the proper coffee and tea terms and what each drink tastes like, and the world is your oyster. If a venti iced soy two-pump vanilla latte with an extra shot of espresso sounds like gibberish to you, you're probably not Gold Level quite yet.

If not, you probably know it's the perfect beverage for a hot summer day. You can enjoy it hot, too.