James Beard Foundation Names 2013 'Who’s Who' Inductees

'Who’s Who of Food & Beverage in America' inductees include Eric Asimov, Michael Mina

James Beard Award

The James Beard Foundation has released the 2013 list of inductees into their prestigious "Who’s Who of Food & Beverage in America" list, and the selections represent a wide cross-section of the modern culinary landscape. The award is bestowed upon those who have "made a significant and unique contribution to the American food and beverage industry," according to a press release, and they will be celebrated at the annual James Beard Foundation Awards, held this year on Monday, May 6, at Lincoln Center’s Avery Fisher Hall in New York City.

"We are delighted to announce and celebrate the new 2013 inductees into this incredibly esteemed group of leaders in our culinary world," Susan Ungaro, president of the James Beard Foundation, said in the release. "From chefs to journalists, these honorees are truly the best and brightest in American food today. Each has contributed substantially to our constantly evolving culinary and beverage scene."

Here’s the list:

Eric Asimov, Journalist and Author
Asimov is The New York Times’ chief wine critic, and also the author of How to Love Wine: A Memoir and Manifesto. In 1992, he created the popular "$25 and Under" restaurant review column for The New York Times, and wrote that until 2004, when he was elevated to wine critic. He is also a co-author of five editions of The New York Times Guide to Restaurants and four editions of $25 and Under: A Guide to the Best Inexpensive Restaurants in New York.

Dorothy Kalins, Editor
Kalins founded Saveur magazine in 1994 along with Christopher Hirsheimer, Michael Grossman, and The Daily Meal's editorial director Colman Andrews, and it went on to win four National Magazine Awards during her time there. In 2001 she joined Newsweek as executive editor, and oversaw a redesign. In 2006 she launched Dorothy Kalins Ink, which has produced award-winning cookbooks for John Besh, David Tanis, and Seamus Mullen.

Barbara Lynch, Chef- Restaurateur
Lynch is the force behind the now-classic Boston restaurants No. 9 Park, B&G Oysters, and The Butcher Shop. In 2003 she was awarded the James Beard Award for Best Chef in the Northeast.

Zarela Martinez, Chef- Restaurateur
Martinez is one of New York City’s most influential chefs, having started out at Café Marimba and later opening Zarela, which was hailed as one of the city’s finest authentic Mexican restaurants until it closed in 2011.

Michael Mina, Chef-Restaurateur
Since 2002, Mina has opened 20 restaurants and lounge spaces throughout the country. His San Francisco flagship, Michael Mina, was awarded two Michelin stars in 2002, was named Esquire Magazine’s Restaurant of the Year in 2011 , and was named The Daily Meal’s 56th best restaurant in America for 2013.


Bill Yosses, Pastry Chef and Author
Yosses has been the White House’s executive pastry chef since 2007. He’s been actively involved with Michelle Obama’s Let’s Move! initiative, and frequently gives tours of the White House’s vegetable garden for school groups.