Wish-Bone Salad Dressing Recalled for Undeclared Dairy and Egg Allergens

The mislabeling could lead to fatal reactions

Don't use this product if you're allergic to dairy or eggs.

The manufacturer of a popular salad dressing brand has issued a voluntary recall due to undeclared ingredients. According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 7,768 cases of 15-ounce bottles of Wish-Bone House Italian Dressing are reportedly mislabeled. The product contains milk and egg, both known allergens that are not present on the packaging.

“People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk or egg may run the risk of a serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume this product,” parent company Pinnacle Foods said in a release. Those who are not allergic to these ingredients may still consume the dressing. No illnesses have been reported to date.

wish-bone salad dressing recall

FDA


The affected products were produced on March 19, 2018, and distributed nationwide. The “best if used by” date, which can be found on the neck of the bottle, is January 13, 2019. The case lot code is 4913019S51 and the item number is 004132100648. Anyone in possession of this product who is allergic to milk or eggs is urged to throw it away or return it to the place of purchase for a full refund.

Finding something to eat for people with severe allergies can sometimes be a hassle. For a look at the safest places to enjoy a meal out, here are the top allergy-friendly chain restaurants in America.

Related Stories
Unhealthiest Store-Bought Salad Dressings GalleryHealthiest Store-Bought Salad Dressings GalleryTips for Avoiding Food Poisoning Gallery17 Healthy Foods to Stock In Case of an Emergency