Alcohol from How to Have an Allergy-Free Thanksgiving (Slideshow)

How to Have an Allergy-Free Thanksgiving (Slideshow)

Full Story
Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Alcohol

Be careful with alcohol. Look for gluten-free beverages. Do your research for beer and sake — there are gluten-free versions. Always check the label!

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Cakes and Cookies

Cakes and cookies may contain diary, soy, wheat, egg, milk, gluten, and nuts galore. In fact, bakery items may contain either nuts or may be produced on equipment that is exposed to various nuts. Shiny bakery items generally contain "butter," as a wash.

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Sauces

Cranberry sauce may contain all kinds of nuts, walnuts, corn, pecans, etc.

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Gravies

You many encounter diary, milk, egg, gluten, corn, soybean, and/or wheat.

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Margarine

Some may contain milk products.

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Seeds

Many individuals are developing various allergic reactions to seeds, such as sesame, sunflower, etc., and they are frequently used in foods, breads, and bakery items.

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Pumpkin Pie

This is a staple holiday sweet that may include wheat, egg, milk, nuts, nutmeg, and gluten.

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Fruits

Apples, carrots, hazelnuts, and stone fruits may aggravate and cause "oral allergy itchiness" if you have seasonal pollen allergies!

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Stuffing

Watch out for the stuffing. It may include nuts, chestnuts, apple, bread (wheat), egg, gluten, chicken stock, herbs, seasoning, spices, milk, and soybean (essentially anything!).

Thinkstock_iStockphoto

Turkey

Many holiday birds are injected with "butter" and various added ingredients.

You've just watched...

How to Have an Allergy-Free Thanksgiving (Slideshow)

Around the Web