Guide to Gluten-Free Drinking Slideshow

Beer

Don’t: Drink it. Beer is made with malted barley, a source of gluten. A double no-no would be a wheat beer like German Hefeweizen, which packs a double punch.

Do: The exception to the rule above is to order a gluten-free brand made with buckwheat, sorghum, rice or corn (see an extensive list here).

Do: Have a cider if you’re craving a pint of something fizzy.

Bourbon

Do: Drink it.

Here are some suggestions:

Autumn Leaves Cocktail

Bacon Old Fashioned

Whiskey Devil

Brandy

Do: Drink it. Learn more about it here.

Champagne

Do: Celebrate! Bubbly is made from grapes and is naturally gluten-free.

Cider

Do: Have a pint.  Fermented from fruit, most ciders are a safe bet. 

Don’t: Go for Hornsby's Draft Cider or Harpoon – these two better-known brands include malted barley in their brew.

Gin

Do: Drink it.

Here are some suggestions:

Tea Rose Martini

No-Groni

The Bazaar's New Way Dirty Martini

Jäegermeister

Do: Go ahead and have a shot – distilled from an impressive 56 herbs and spices, Jäeger remains gluten-free.

Don’t: Drop your shot in a pint of beer (obviously).

Kahlúa

Maryse Chevriere

Do: Drink it. Try it in a Chocolate Cherry Russian, for example.

Ouzo

Do: Have a shot (or seven, á la "My Big Fat Greek Wedding") because this aromatic aniseed apéritif is gluten-free.

Malt Liquor

Do: Give up on this one, there isn’t an forty-ouncer or Barbie beer under the sun that doesn’t contain gluten.  If you really feel left out, there’s nothing like a game of Edward 40-hands with bottles of wine.

Don’t: Think that “light” on the label means that it’s light on the barley.

Mead

Do: Get your hands on this tasty beverage – it’s distilled from honey and, like wine, is naturally gluten-free.

Rum

Do: Go light or white – unspiced means gluten-free.

Don’t: Order dark or spiced rum, many brands with artificial ingredients like caramel color may contain wheat starch.

Sake

Do: Order it hot or cold – either way, it’s brewed from rice.

Don’t: Drop your cup in a pint of beer (see Jäeger).

Tequila

Do: Take a shot! Tequila is distilled from agave and is gluten-free, as are most Margarita mixes. To be on the safe (and probably tastier) side, make your own.

Don’t: Go dark. As with rum many artificial ingredients include caramel color, a widely-found gluten culprit.

Vodka

Do: Drink it! While typically derived from wheat (although it can also be made from potatoes or corn), those with sensitivities can safely enjoy drinks made with distilled spirits as the process eliminates gluten.

Don’t: Let anyone tell you that distilled spirits derived from wheat contain gluten – it’s science!

Wine

Do: Stock up and buy yourself a case or two – this is the notorious second choice of former enthusiastic beer drinkers like myself.  Meet your new best friends, red, white and rosé. 

Don’t: Drink wine coolers – some contain malted barley.