grey goose

Is Grey Goose Gluten-Free?

The answer might surprise you
grey goose

Find out whether you can drink this liquor.

Grey Goose, manufactured by Bacardi, is a relatively high-shelf brand of vodka. And if you’re out in the club, or at a nice bar, or buying shots for someone you’re trying to impress, it wouldn’t be out of the ordinary to order Grey Goose. It’s generally regarded as being smooth, classy, and — as their commercials imply — a guarantee for an elevated night.

But is Grey Goose gluten-free? This question might sound silly if you aren’t someone with celiac disease or an allergy to the gluten compound. But people with real intolerances and reactions to gluten often try to be excessively careful not to consume anything that could pose a risk.

Vodkas can be gluten-free if they’re made with something that doesn’t contain gluten. Potatoes, gluten-free grains, and even grapes can be used to distill the clear spirit.

Though Grey Goose is made with wheat, which contains gluten, the company says the vodka itself is still gluten-free. This is due to the methods used in its distillation.

“The science of distillation makes it impossible for gluten to travel through the process,” explained Grey Goose global ambassador Joe McCanta to The Daily Meal, “even removing gluten from a grain alcohol like Grey Goose vodka. All that is left is a purified alcohol, free from gluten.”

Unless the spirit comes into contact with something glutenous after distillation, it should be safe — even for celiac sufferers. Grey Goose does not add any gluten to their spirit once it’s distilled.

“There is a lot of misinformation and false claims out there,” McCanta said, “which has made it increasingly complicated and confusing for celiac disease sufferers and those with severe gluten allergies.”


However, these individuals need not fear — in addition to Grey Goose, here are 10 other vodkas that are entirely gluten-free.