A Carb Lover's Guide To Going Gluten-Free

A Carb Lover’s Guide to Going Gluten-Free

Going gluten-free doesn't mean missing out on your favorite foods. The following swaps will make eliminating gluten from your diet a cinch. Just be sure to read the labels before purchasing a product to ensure the item is 100 percent gluten-free.

Almond, Coconut, Quinoa Flour

There are a variety of wheat-free flours that can be substituted for all-purpose flour in your favorite baked goods. Just be wary that certain alternative flours work better in some recipes than others. For example, nut flours are great for cookies and tarts, but don't work well in bread recipes.

Banana “Ice Cream”

Not all ice cream varieties contain gluten. However, those containing flavoring, like brownie and cookie pieces, often do. To satisfy your sweet tooth while steering clear of gluten, try making your own ice cream. You can easily do this by blending a frozen banana and adding chocolate chips, nut butter, or any other mix-ins.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Pizza nights aren't a thing of the past. You can make your own gluten-free version using cauliflower as the crust. Simply chop, steam, and press into a circle on a baking sheet. Then, add sauce, cheese, and whatever other toppings you typically eat.

Corn Tortillas

Wheat tortillas are a no-go for those avoiding gluten, but corn versions are widely available. You can use these to make you favorite burritos, enchiladas, or tacos. You can also turn any sandwich into a wrap, while also saving calories.

Flax or Fiber Cereal “Crumbs”

Don't give up on meatballs just yet! You can swap your favorite recipe's breadcrumbs with crushed up flax or fiber cereal. They bind just like regular breadcrumbs, lend the same texture to your meatballs, and you won't even taste the difference.

Lettuce Leaves

The bun may be off limits, but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy a burger every now and then. For a gluten-free swap, try wrapping your burger in lettuce instead of a wheat bun. Not only will you avoid gluten, you'll cut calories by making this simple switch.

Quinoa Pasta

A great substitute for wheat pasta is quinoa pasta. Made everyone's favorite ancient grain, quinoa pasta is rich in fiber and protein. This makes it more nutritious than regular wheat pasta. Plus, it's safe for those following a gluten-free diet.


Rich and creamy risotto is typically made with a starchy, short-grained rice called Arborio rice. As a result, it does not contain the protein found in wheat. When ordering risotto at a restaurant, just be sure to ask your server if it is 100 percent gluten free, as some chefs may use flour to thicken the sauce.


If you have celiac disease, you should be careful about gluten lurking in unexpected places. Soy sauce, for example, contains gluten, but you can still enjoy your favorite Asian foods by substituting it with tamari. Tamari is made as a byproduct of miso, so it does not contain wheat.

Vegetable Noodles

Pasta is a staple of any carb lover's diet. Fortunately, there are several great substitutes. Try making your favorite Italian recipes with vegetable noodles instead of wheat pasta. Zucchinis, carrots, and spaghetti squash are all great options.