Soylent Was Just Recalled Again, This Time for Containing Milk

The tasteless super-supplement was supposed to be lactose-free but contained some milk

Contrary to what you may have heard, Soylent is apparently accidental milk, not people.

Soylent — the bizarre flavorless super-supplement that touts itself as the miracle cure for eating — has nonetheless faced several health and legal issues since launching in 2014.

After reports in late 2016 that Soylent bars and powder mix were making people violently ill, the latest gaffe is that Soylent products, which are labeled as lactose-free, are being pulled off shelves for containing milk traces.

The small recall of Soylent 1.8 powder was issued by the Food and Drug Administration as a precautionary measure, as no reports have been received of illnesses or sicknesses related to the inadvertent dairy addition. The recall applies to 890 boxes of Soylent 1.8 powder, and customers who bought the product (SKU: 1WK-V108 with Lot #: G7076PA, Expiration / Best Buy date: 02/2018) are advised to get rid of it.

Related

“We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause,” the company said in a statement. “As you know, transparency is one of our core values and your health and well-being is our number one priority.”