6 Dishes You Didn't Know Were Gluten-Free

Rice and Beans. This filling dish is made with rice so it's naturally gluten-free. Just be sure to check the ingredients on any spice blends or flavoring packets you may add to your beans; they can include gluten or glutinous ingredients.

(Credit: Flickr/Ard Hesselink)

Shrimp and Grits. Corn is another starchy food that's great for anyone who is eating gluten-free. No need to give up your shrimp and grits; just be cautious if you flavor your grits with bacon, since some brands aren't gluten-free.

(Credit: Flickr/Joel Mann)

Buckwheat Pancakes. Assuming your recipe doesn't call for any wheat flour, even pancakes can go gluten-free. Gluten-free pancakes can be made with buckwheat flour, rice flour, and chickpea flour.

(Credit: Flickr/elana's pantry)

Risotto. Rice is gluten–free, so rich, creamy risotto is a good choice for anyone on a gluten-free diet. Just be sure the other ingredients you're adding are gluten free too; sometimes sauces and stocks can contain gluten.

(Credit: Flickr/Alpha)

Sushi. The trick to eating gluten-free sushi is to talk to your server about your dietary restrictions. In general, eating gluten-free a sushi restaurant means choosing gluten-free soy sauce, avoiding any rolls that have "crunch" or tempura, skipping imitation crab meat, and not eating certain sauces. Safe picks at a sushi restaurant usually include rice, fish that's not covered in any sauce, and fresh vegetables. The bottom line? Talk to your server to be sure you're ordering something gluten-free or make your own sushi.

(Credit: Flickr/Raging Wire)

Oatmeal. Oats are gluten-free but are often processed in facilities that also process wheat and other glutinous grains. To avoid cross contamination, look for oats specifically labeled gluten-free. 

(Credit: Shutterstock)

Kristie Collado is The Daily Meal's Cook Editor. Follow her on Twitter @KColladoCook.