4 Foods You Didn’t Know Have Nuts in Them

Don’t eat these foods if you are trying to stay nut-free
Nut allergies are some of the most common and deadly food allergies in the world.

Thinkstock

Nut allergies are some of the most common and deadly food allergies in the world.

When you or someone you know suffers from nut allergies, it can be tricky to keep track of all the foods that contain nuts. Sure, the obvious things like peanut butter, trail mixes, and nut milks may be obvious to avoid, but there are some dishes that contain nuts you might not have considered part of the forbidden foods list.

Click here for the 7 Most Common Food Allergies slideshow.

Nut allergies can be particularly tricky because nuts are used whole, ground, infused, and more. Additionally, nut allergies are generally severe, which is why you should always check the packages of foods for warnings if you are avoiding nuts or contaminated products.

We’ve rounded up a few foods that you might not have guessed contain nuts to stay clear of if you or someone you know has a nut allergy.

Mole Sauce

Mole Sauce

Thinkstock

Mole is a traditional Mexican sauce.

You might have heard that the traditional Mexican dish was made with chocolate, but did you know that most mole sauces pesto are made with nuts? Instead, try replacing the peanut butter in this mole recipe with tahini or sunflower seed butter.

Marzipan

Marzipan

Shutterstock

You can shape marzipan into miniature fruits.

Marzipan might look like colorful fruits, but this sweet treat is made with almond paste. If you are looking for an alternative, try one of these nut-free recipes.

Pesto

Pesto

Thinkstock

You can make pesto with or without nuts.

Many pesto recipes contain pine nuts, so be wary when picking a recipe. If you want a nut-free option, try this recipe for a basil-based pesto.

Vegan Cheese

Vegan Cheese

Thinkstock

Vegan cheese can contain nuts.

Unfortunately, for any vegans out there with nut allergies, most vegan cheeses are flavored with cashew. Next time you reach for a slice of vegan cheese, consider swapping for soy-based paneer instead.

Angela Carlos is the Cook Editor at The Daily Meal. Find her on Twitter and tweet @angelaccarlos.

Related Links
The 10 Most Common Food AllergiesMost Dangerous Food Allergies8 Most Dangerous Food Allergies at a Kid's Party

Around the Web