Taltarni Three Monks Cabernet Merlot 2003


About the Region

Divided into six wine zones — Central Victoria, North East Victoria, North West Victoria, Western Victoria, and the relatively newly planted region of Gippsland — Victoria, whose capital is Melbourne, encompasses many different microclimates and has more wineries than any other part of Australia. Shiraz and chardonnay are particularly prominent here, but many other varieties are successfully grown, from pinot noir, riesling, gewürztraminer, and pinot gris to sangiovese, viognier, and marsanne. The King Valley region of North East Victoria is famous for growing a wide range of grapes seldom found in Australia, among them sagrantino, graciano, mondeuse, and petit manseng. Victoria also produces excellent muscat-based sweet wines.