Venturi Automobiles Partners With Leonardo DiCaprio for Formula E Electric Racecar Team


Racers, please charge up your engines!

Actor and environmental activist Leonardo DiCaprio has joined forces with electric vehicle manufacturer Venturi Automobiles to enter a team in the new FIA Formula E Championship. This is the world's first race series that features all-electric, zero-emissions automobiles. The new team, Venturi Grand Prix, was co-founded by DiCaprio and Venturi founder Gildo Pallanca Pastor, in conjunction with Bert Hedaya and Francesco Costa. It will be based in Monaco, and it is the tenth and final team in the new race series.

"The future of our planet depends on our ability to embrace fuel-efficient, clean-energy vehicles," says DiCaprio. "Venturi Grand Prix has shown tremendous foresight in their decision to create an environmentally friendly racing team, and I am happy to be a part of this effort."

Formula E features electric single-seat racecars capable of speeds in excess of 225km/h, or about 140mph. Competitive events will take place in 10 cities worldwide and to date include Beijing, Los Angeles and London.


The series is geared toward a new generation of racing fans, aiming to promote electric vehicles and sustainability. In addition to the Venturi Grand Prix, the series features motorsport giants such as IndyCar teams Andretti Autosport and Dragon Racing, Asia's China Racing, Super Aguri and Mahindra Racing, and European teams Drayson Racing, e.dams, Audi Sport ABT and Virgin Racing.

“Venturi has been a pioneer in electric high performance vehicles for more than a decade and Formula E gives us the fantastic opportunity to further improve our advanced technologies through motorsport, as well as compete all over the world," says Gildo Pallanca Pastor. "It also gives us the chance to be part of a new racing program with a project that really shares Venturi's values for clean mobility, innovation in the field of electric propulsion and energy efficiency optimization."

Here is the 10-team lineup of the 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship:

  1. Drayson Racing Formula E Team (UK)
  2. China Racing Formula E Team (China)
  3. Andretti Autosport Formula E Team (USA)
  4. Dragon Racing Formula E Team (USA)
  5. e.dams Formula E Team (France)
  6. Super Aguri Formula E Team (Japan)
  7. Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team (Germany)
  8. Mahindra Racing Formula E Team (India)
  9. Virgin Racing Formula E Team (UK)
  10. Venturi Formula E Team (Monaco)