Tune In to the Food Tank Summit Livestream: January 21-22 9AM-5PM EST

Tune In to the Food Tank Summit Livestream: January 21-22 9AM-5PM EST

Watch the Food Tank via Livestream and join the conversation using hashtag: #FoodTank. Email questions to Questions@FoodTank.com.

Food Tank, in partnership with The George Washington (GW) University, is excited to present the 1st Annual Food Tank Summit at the Jack Morton Auditorium (former home of CNN’s Crossfire). This two-day event features more than 75 different speakers from the food and agriculture field. Researchers, farmers, chefs, policy makers, government officials, and students will come together panels on topics including; food waste, urban agriculture, family farmers, farm workers, and more.

Watch the entire Food Tank Summit free here on January 21st and 22nd. The livestream has been graciously donated by the Barilla Center for Food and Nutrition (BCFN). Please also join BCFN and Food Tank in taking action in support of the Milan Charter by clicking HERE.

FOOD TANK SUMMIT PROGRAM

January 21st, Day One

8:30am Registration and Breakfast

9:10 Welcome: Diane Robinson Knapp, GW’s Urban Food Task Force, @GWpublichealth

9:15 Keynote and Opening: Kathleen Merrigan, GWU Institute for Sustainability, @SustainableGW

9:25 Danielle Nierenberg, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

9:35 Panel: Cultivating Better Urban Food Systems

Keynote: Mary Cheh, Washington, D.C. Council Member, Ward 3, @marycheh

Moderator: Dennis Dimick, National Geographic, @ddimick, @NatGeo

  1. Che Axum, University of the District of Columbia, @udc_edu

  2. Morgan Morris, Love and Carrots, @LoveNCarrotsDC

  3. Sara Scherr, EcoAgriculture Partners, @EcoAgPartners

  4. Ivy Ken, GWU Urban Sustainability

  5. Helen Dombalis, National Farm to School Network, @FarmtoSchool

  6. Haley Burns, GWU Student

10:45 Break

11:00 Panel: Waste not Want not in the Food System

Moderator: Daniel Reed, Planet Forward, @planet_forward

  1. Ben Simon, Food Recovery Network, @foodrecovery

  2. Jean Buzby, United States Department of Agriculture, @jbuzby, @USDA_ERS

  3. Mike Curtin, DC Central Kitchen, @mikecurtindcck

  4. Patricia Beneke, United National Environment Programme, @uneprona

  5. Jordan Figueiredo, Feedback, @EndFoodWaste

  6. Jeanne von Zastrow, Food Marketing Institute, @jvonzastrow

12:15pm Lunch and Networking

1:00 Panel: Family Farmers Creating Resilience in the Food System

Keynote: Brian Halweil, Edible Manhattan, @brianhalweil

Moderator: Jane Black, Washington Post, @jane_black

  1. Coach Mark Smallwood, Rodale Institute, @rodaleinstitute

  2. Bernie Prince, FRESHFARM Markets, @freshfarmmktsdc

  3. Tom Pesek, International Fund for Agricultural Development, @tompesek

  4. Chandler Goule, National Farmers Union, @NFUDC

  5. Kathy Ozer, National Family Farm Coalition/Via Campesina, @FamilyFarmCo

  6. Eric Hansen, The National Young Farmers Coalition, @NYFCNYFC

2:15 Panel: Telling the Story of Food

Keynote: Frank Sesno, Planet Forward/GWU, @franksesno

Moderator: Allison Aubrey, National Public Radio, @AubreyNPRFood

  1. Roger Thurow, Chicago Council on Global Affairs, @rogerthurow

  2. Sam Fromartz, Food and Environment Reporting Network, @fromartz

  3. Vicki Robin, Author, Blessing the Hands That Feed Us, @vicki_robin

  4. Erik Hoffner, Orion Magazine, @erikhoffner

  5. Diana Donlon, Center for Food Safety, @coolfoods

  6. Holly Freishtat, Baltimore City Food Policy Director, @BmoreFoodCzar

3:45 Panel: The Business of Food

Keynote: Scott Davis, Panera Bread, @panerabread

Moderator: Eliza Barclay, National Public Radio, @elizabarclay

  1. Nora Pouillon, Nora’s Table, @restaurantnora

  2. Brad Nelson, Marriott Hotels & Resorts, @chefnb

  3. Vicky Rateau, Oxfam America, @vrateau

  4. Paul Willis, Niman Ranch and Farmer, @Niman_ranch

  5. Joshua Brau, Chipotle, @ChipotleTweets

  6. Brian Lipinski, World Resources Institute

5:00 End of Day Keynote: Chef Michel Nischan, Wholesome Wave, @michelnischan, @wholesomewave

5:10 Adjourn to Reception

 

January 22nd, Day Two

8:30am Coffee

9:10 Keynote: Saru Jayaraman, ROC United, @sarujayaraman

9:20 Panel: Recognizing Workers in the Food System

Keynote: Liz Shuler, National AFL-CIO, @AFLCIO

Moderator: Diane Brady, Bloomberg, @dianebrady

  1. Baldemar Velasquez, Farm Labor Organizing Committee, @SupportFLOC

  2. Jose Oliva, Food Chain Workers Alliance, @foodchainworker, @foodandlabor

  3. Melissa Perry, The George Washington University

  4. Mia Dell, United Food and Commercial Workers, UFCW

  5. Jeremiah Lowery, ROC-UNITED DC, @jeremiahlowery1

  6. Patty Lovera, Food & Water Watch, @foodandwater

10:40 Panel: Pushing for Better Agriculture Research and Policy

Keynote: Jerry Glover, USAID, @jerry_d_glover

Moderator: Allison Aubrey, National Public Radio, @AubreyNPRFood

  1. Janet Larsen, Earth Policy Institute, @EarthPolicy

  2. Jahi Chappell, The Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, @IATP

  3. Nabeeha Kazi, Humanitas Global, @humanitasglobal

  4. Pamela Hess, Arcadia Center for Sustainable Food & Agriculture, @ArcadiaFood

  5. Emily Broad Leib, Harvard Law School, @broademily, @HarvardFLPC

  6. Barbara Ekwall, UN FAO, @UNFAO

12:00 Lunch

1:00 Panel: Pushing for International Agreements: The Milan Charter

Keynote: Luca Virginio, Barilla Center for Food and Nutrition, @BarillaCFN

Moderator: Joe DeCapua, Voice of America, @jdecapua

  1. Richard McCarthy, Slow Food USA, @SlowFoodUSA

  2. Jonathan Bloom, Author, American Wasteland & Wasted Food, @wastedfood

  3. Ellen Gustafson, Activist and Author, We the Eaters, @ellengustafson

  4. Danielle Nierenberg, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

  5. Laurie Benson, 1% for Women, @TossTheStone

  6. Kathryn Russell, ONE Campaign

2:15 Break

2:30 Panel: True Cost Accounting in the Food System

Keynote: Patrick Holden, Sustainable Food Trust, @SusFoodTrust

Moderator: Jason Huffman, Politico, @JsonHuffman

  1. Peter Myers, Environmental Health Sciences, @petemyers

  2. Jenn Yates, Union of Concerned Scientists, @JennUCS

  3. David Aylward, Ashoka, @AylwardDavid, @Ashoka

  4. Tom McDougall, 4P Foods, @4PFoods

  5. Paul Shapiro, Humane Society of the United States, @pshapiro

  6. John Buchanan, Conservation International, @ConservationOrg

3:45 Panel: Democratizing Innovation

Keynote: John Fisk, Winrock International, @ngfn, @pastureproject

Moderator: Tim Carman, Washington Post, @timcarman

  1. Jill Isenbarger, Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture, @StoneBarns

  2. Katie Campbell, ActionAid, @actionaidusa, @katieannecamp

  3. Jessica Rosen, Forum for the Future, @Forum4theFuture, @forumfood, @feedjess

  4. Aaron McNevin, World Wildlife Fund, @WWFUS

  5. Steve Brescia, Groundswell International, @groundswellint

  6. Shen Tong, Food-X

5:00 Ending Keynote: Congresswoman Chellie Pingree, @chelliepingree

5:10 Adjourn

Continue reading at Food Tank