A variety of miso pastes inside small dishes
Is Miso Paste Considered Vegan? What You Need To Know
By Crystal Antonace
Miso paste has roots steeped in ancient Chinese culture, with the first miso paste, known as Jiang, derived from animals, but today’s miso paste is made of fermented soybeans.
Although most miso paste products are vegan, keep an eye out for some that are made in a facility that processes meat, eggs, or dairy.
Miso soup can be enjoyed in a variety of ways and typically consists of miso paste, stock, and an assortment of protein and vegetables.
Making homemade miso soup may be frustrating for vegans wishing to follow an authentic recipe, as dashi stock is most commonly used as a base for the dish.
Dashi stock contains seaweed and shiitake mushrooms, but most varieties include bonito flakes, which are dried, shaved pieces of tuna, and small dried fish or niboshi.
The New York Times Cooking's mushroom miso soup has vegan dashi with shiitake mushrooms, kombu, or seaweed, and a variety of rice wines with soy sauce for a rich umami flavor.