WASHINGTON, DC - MARCH 27: Peep diorama's were photographed at The Washington Post via Getty Images in Washington, DC on Thursday March 27, 2014. (Photo by Joseph Victor Stefanchik for The Washington Post via Getty Images)
Can You Eat Peeps If You're Vegan?
By Cynthia Anaya
Every box of Peeps includes nutrition facts and a short list of ingredients like sugar, corn syrup, and gelatin, as well as less than 0.5% of potassium sorbate, natural flavors, blue #1, and carnauba wax. The chocolate-flavored Peeps may contain milk, which is a no-no for vegans, but you’ll have to look a little closer to find out if regular Peeps are vegan friendly.
A four-count package of marshmallow bunnies contains 30 grams of added sugar, but sugar is a simple carbohydrate and contains no animal products. Similarly, corn syrup is made from the natural sugars in corn and contains no animal products.
Gelatin is a protein made by boiling different animal body parts such as bones, tendons, and cartilage, which means that Peeps contain animal by-products, and therefore are not vegan-friendly. Luckily, Women's Health lists some alternative gelatin-free snacks vegans can enjoy, including Twizzlers, Sour Patch Kids, Jolly Ranchers, Skittles, and Nerds.