General Mills Recalls 1.8 Million Boxes of Gluten-Free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios for Containing Wheat

Contributor
Wheat flour was accidentally added into the oat flour used to make gluten-free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios
Cheerios

Only the Honey Nut Cheerios and Cheerios gluten-free cereals are being recalled.

General Mills is recalling about 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios because wheat may have been accidentally added into the varieties labeled as gluten-free.

The cereals were produced at the Lodi, California facility in July and somehow wheat mixed in with the gluten-free oat flour. Those with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance should return the cereal to General Mills for a full refund or replacement.

Affected boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios have “BETTER IF USED BY” codes between July 12 and July 25, 2016, and Cheerios’ codes are between July 14 and July 17, 2016.

The other gluten-free flavors, Apple Cinnamon, Frosted, and Multi Grain, are not affected by this recall.

“Our Lodi production facility lost rail service for a time and our gluten-free oat flour was being off-loaded from rail cars to trucks for delivery to our facility on the dates in question,” Jim Murphy, senior vice president of General Mills and president of cereal, said on the company blog. “In an isolated incident involving purely human error, wheat flour was inadvertently introduced into our gluten-free oat flour system at Lodi.”

Related Links
Beyond Cheerios: What's in the Cereal Bowl Around the World5 Things You Didn’t Know About CheeriosAmerica Says No to GMO: Cheerios Go GMO-FreeCoke and Cheerios Multi-Ethnic Super Bowl Ads Create BuzzSoon You Can Buy Cheerios in ‘Ancient Grains’ Variety