Guide to Gluten-Free Drinking Slideshow
March 2, 2011
Don’t: Drink it. Beer is made with malted barley, a source of gluten. A double no-no would be a wheat beer like German Hefeweizen, which packs a double punch.
Do: The exception to the rule above is to order a gluten-free brand made with buckwheat, sorghum, rice or corn (see an extensive list here).
Do: Have a cider if you’re craving a pint of something fizzy.
Do: Drink it. Learn more about it here.
Do: Celebrate! Bubbly is made from grapes and is naturally gluten-free.
Do: Go ahead and have a shot – distilled from an impressive 56 herbs and spices, Jäeger remains gluten-free.
Don’t: Drop your shot in a pint of beer (obviously).
Do: Drink it. Try it in a Chocolate Cherry Russian, for example.
Do: Have a shot (or seven, á la "My Big Fat Greek Wedding") because this aromatic aniseed apéritif is gluten-free.
Do: Give up on this one, there isn’t an forty-ouncer or Barbie beer under the sun that doesn’t contain gluten. If you really feel left out, there’s nothing like a game of Edward 40-hands with bottles of wine.
Don’t: Think that “light” on the label means that it’s light on the barley.
Do: Get your hands on this tasty beverage – it’s distilled from honey and, like wine, is naturally gluten-free.
Do: Go light or white – unspiced means gluten-free.
Don’t: Order dark or spiced rum, many brands with artificial ingredients like caramel color may contain wheat starch.
Do: Order it hot or cold – either way, it’s brewed from rice.
Don’t: Drop your cup in a pint of beer (see Jäeger).
Do: Take a shot! Tequila is distilled from agave and is gluten-free, as are most Margarita mixes. To be on the safe (and probably tastier) side, make your own.
Don’t: Go dark. As with rum many artificial ingredients include caramel color, a widely-found gluten culprit.
Do: Drink it! While typically derived from wheat (although it can also be made from potatoes or corn), those with sensitivities can safely enjoy drinks made with distilled spirits as the process eliminates gluten.
Don’t: Let anyone tell you that distilled spirits derived from wheat contain gluten – it’s science!