DGS Delicatessen

Row 1

1317 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 293-4400
Eastern European
Mon–Thu: 11:30 AM–9:30 PM Fri: 11:30 AM–10:00 PM Sat: 10:00 AM–10:00 PM Sun: 10:00 AM–9:00 PM


Map: Surroundings & Nearby
Foursquare Tips
Jewish eats (both inventive and traditional) paired with craft cocktails in what looks like a turn of the century grocery (white subway tiles, barnwood shelving overflowing with jars...).
Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 06:34
DGS is no standard-issue deli. For starters, the Dupont Circle outpost comes with a bar. Further, the kitchen is more respectful than reverential regarding tradition.
Washington Post
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 13:18
Horribly named. Expect to take a sit-down restaurant amount of time & a sit-down amount of money bc it's that & not a deli! Delis are quick & cheap!
Wednesday, December 5, 2012 - 07:32
There is now takeout!!!
Friday, November 30, 2012 - 07:34
Don't miss the latkes!
Monday, May 13, 2013 - 19:43
While the quality of the food was good, the price tag isn't inline with the portions. Also $3 for a Dr. Browns should be illegal. If you don't expect Katz or Carnegie deli you probably will enjoy it.
Friday, December 28, 2012 - 09:16
Chef Barry Koslow makes a mean matzoh ball soup, and the restaurant also has festive cocktails and a solid brunch offering. [Eater 38 Member]
Wednesday, July 10, 2013 - 12:49
Try the roasted cauliflower! Yum! Arrive before the lunch rush and enjoy a great meal at the back bar. It's not a deli, per se, but they have great sandwiches and side salads.
Tuesday, February 5, 2013 - 06:51
It's just ok. For the price the sandwiches are tiny without much meat. Probably wont go back because who wants to spend $30 for lunch. Disappointing.
Friday, December 28, 2012 - 09:13
The DGS Hamburger is a solid choice: Creekstone Farms Beef, Smoked Jalapeno Mayo, B&B Pickles on Potato Bun with French Fries. Add some provolone cheese and gribenes and you're set!
DC Dining
Wednesday, December 31, 2014 - 05:02
Get the Reuben
Monday, November 18, 2013 - 08:35
Try the Jameson.
Thursday, August 29, 2013 - 08:39
It's not a NY Deli, it's a DC delicatessen. If you think it's too expensive compared to NY Delicatessens, you have never been to one. They also make everything in house.
Saturday, December 29, 2012 - 11:59
The bread pudding is incredible!
Thursday, December 6, 2012 - 15:56
Noisy! Not a good place for clients or romance. (Or romantic clients.)
Wednesday, December 5, 2012 - 07:37
Get the matzo ball soup. Like grandma used to make.
Tuesday, December 4, 2012 - 15:16
Dessert menu
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 17:15
The Bitches Say: A+. DGS Delicatessen offers high-quality ingredients. Gourmet deli cuisine. Attentive service. A chic ambiance. Just really good. Awarded with the Best Bagel and Lox Award for 2013!
Bitches Who Brunch
Friday, January 10, 2014 - 16:08
Cute space but food was WAY oversalted (both matzoh soup and latkes). The latkes were also way overcooked. The hunt for good Jewish cooking in DC continues!
Friday, January 3, 2014 - 10:50
Salmon tartar is amazing!
Monday, August 5, 2013 - 15:49