5 Hidden Sources of Gluten to Avoid When Dining Out

5 Hidden Sources of Gluten to Avoid When Dining Out
From feedproxy.google.com, by Justina Huddleston

iStock / Thinkstock

5 Hidden Sources of Gluten to Avoid When Dining Out


When you have a gluten sensitivity, sometimes dining out feels like no fun. Even less fun? Accidentally eating gluten and feeling like garbage later because of it. When in doubt, ask your server about how your food is prepared. Make things even easier on yourself by heading to the restaurant knowing these unlikely places gluten might be hiding in your next meal.


Most soy sauce contains wheat. This can make Asian dining in general tricky – teriyaki, hoisin, and even miso usually contain gluten. But at your local sushi joint, there’s another culprit to watch out for: imitation crab meat.

Also known as crab stick, Krab, or sometimes (mistakenly) kani, imitation crab meat can throw a wrench in your gluten-free diet. Crab stick is made of fish paste and starch (usually wheat), along with flavorings, salt, and sometimes MSG, which can also contain gluten. Crab stick is almost always used in California rolls. For the safest bet, treat yourself to the real thing. Your taste buds will thank you, too.

Sauces and Soups

While most people know that soy sauce contains gluten, it’s not the only sauce that can contain wheat ingredients. Many cream sauces, soups, and gravies are thickened using a roux, a mixture of wheat flour and fat. But don’t be fooled into thinking that only “creamy” sauces use this technique – even dishes like boeuf bourguignon and chicken marsala can contain wheat flour. Avoid the obvious culprits, like alfredo sauce and clam chowder, but if you aren’t sure about what’s in your meal, make sure to ask your server to check with the kitchen to see if your meal is being prepared with gluten-free ingredients.

French Fries

Fan of fries? This might disappoint you. Those shatteringly crisp fries at your favorite gastropub could be tossed with flour, making them a big no-no. Troublingly, if you’re very sensitive to gluten you may want to avoid fried foods all together. Battered and flour-dusted foods can contaminate the oil in the fryer, so that when otherwise gluten-free foods are cooked, they’re tainted.

Hot Chocolate and Coffee

If you’re eating at a diner or dive, beware – instant cocoa and coffee mixes sometimes contain wheat in the form of starch, used to add bulk to the mixture. The same goes for non-dairy creamers and beverage flavoring syrups. You’ll also want to watch out for beverages that contain malt or caramel color, which is usually derived from wheat sources.


Yes, eggs are gluten-free. However, you need to be careful when scarfing them down at restaurants, rather than the safety of your own kitchen. Some chain and buffet establishments add baking mix or even pancake batter to their scrambled eggs and omelets to make them nice and fluffy. At a more upscale eatery you probably don’t need to worry, but as always, it’s better to err on the side of caution and just ask.

"5 Hidden Sources of Gluten to Avoid When Dining Out" originally published on The Menuism Dining Blog.

Rate this Story